12 Days of Christmas: Mini Book Beans for Children

literary-advent-6-edited-1DAY 3 of 12
“Every Who down in Who-ville liked Christmas a lot . . .
but the Grinch, who lived just north of Who-ville, did NOT!”

How The Crinch Stole Christmas
by Dr. Seuss

This heartwarming story about the effects of the Christmas spirit will grow even the coldest and smallest of hearts. Like mistletoe, candy canes, and caroling, the Grinch is a mainstay of the holidays.

Rated 4.7 on amazon.comed6ab3f427c0e107b9dcb69aa9a8aeab-edited

The ultimate Dr. Seuss Christmas classic – no holiday season is complete without the Grinch, Max, Cindy-Lou, and all the residents of Who-ville!

Book Bean: Merry Berry Matcha Freeze
0111-editedAs cold as the Grinch and just as green too!
In a blender add 2 scoops vanilla bean
ice-cream, Matcha powder to taste, one scoop
(or more to taste) of canned cranberry (not jellied, frozen ahead of time if possible.) Blend till desired texture. Garnish with real cranberries and enjoy!


d095ad4bea6df8d433049a8bc12cb70d“Then the Grinch thought of something
he hadn’t before!
What if Christmas, he thought,
doesn’t come from a store.
What if Christmas…perhaps…
means a little bit more!”

Dr. Seuss, How the Grinch Stole Christmas

 

Advertisements

Beat The Heat Book Beans Pt.2

Continuing from yesterday here is Part 2 of 2. More yummy chills and book thrills to beat the heat with!

Simmer down with these cool books and icy drinks:

“Love in The Time of Cholera”

Gabriel Garcia Marquez
is a wonderful author, and I really enjoyed this book. It had a warm ambiance laced in it’s pages and left me with a feeling of nostalgia when I finished it.

“Set in a country on the Caribbean coast of South America, this is a story about a woman and two men and their entwined lives. From the author of the legendary One Hundred Years of Solitude.”

Rated 3.9 on amazon.com

1669859.jpg

Book Bean: Raspberry Rose Ripple
Rose Tea Steeped rich and chilled. Add frozen raspberries to blender, add chilled rose tea, add a couple scoops of cool whip and blend. (you can also try this with ice-cream or fro-yo.)

Before The Fall

By Noah Hawley
On a foggy summer night, eleven people–ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter–depart Martha’s Vineyard on a private jet headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the plane plunges into the ocean. The only survivors are Scott Burroughs–the painter–and a four-year-old boy, who is now the last remaining member of an immensely wealthy and powerful media mogul’s family.

Rated 4.4 on amazon.com

GL0809_Papaya-Banana_Smoothie.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide.landscapeBook Bean: Frothy Tropical Frost
Prepare Hibiscus tea click for recipe, set aside 4 oz and chill. In a blender add a handful of frozen mango, a scoop of crushed pineapple, the 4oz of chilled hibiscus tea, half a banana, and a dollop of cream of coconut. Blend until smooth and frothy. Sip, read, chill, repeat.

“White Fang”

A great classic by Jack London. If you’d like to escape the heat and spend some time way up north in the wilderness of Canada, this is a book that makes a great escape.

“Half wolf, half dog, White Fang fully understands the cruelty of both nature and humans. After nearly starving to death during the frigid Arctic winter, he’s taken in first by a man who “trains” him through constant whippings, and then by another who forces him to participate in vicious dogfights.

Follow White Fang as he overcomes these obstacles and finally meets someone who offers him kindness and love.”

Rated 4.5 on amazon.com
maple_coffee_frappe.jpg

Book Bean: Maple Frozen Mocha
Brew espresso over 3 maple sugar cubes dissolve and chill. Add ice, drizzle ice with a little chocolate, add almond milk, and the espresso maple mix to blender. Blend  until smooth. You can double or triple this of course 😉

I’ll Give You The Sun

The New York Times Bestselling story by Jandy Nelson. A book about first love, family, loss, and betrayal. A great choice for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell

“At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them.”
Rated 4.7 on amazon.com

Citrus-Blend-Smoothie-003a.jpg

Book Bean: Teappaccino
Steep you favorite herbal or white tea blend and chill (citrusy and florally ones are especially nice). Add tea, scoop of vanilla fro-yo, and a squeeze of lemon to blender. Blend and enjoy 🙂

Well that is my beat the heat chill out list, I hope you find something that you’d like to try. Please share your experience if you do.

61320c2189a7c67808a67c621ee2520d
Check out my Saga Saturday List for even more great summer reads!

Mid-week Meet n’ Greet

Lets get to know each other:
Share about your love of books and/or coffee/tea!
cafe-interdit
Source: Cafe Meet n’ Greet:

Coffee Alternative

Heaven forbid you should need to stop drinking coffee,
tumblr_nm27bktiG71saq5fro3_500or
find yourself
without it!
However, if you had to drink something else, or if you just like to mix it up, what would you choose?

smoked_butterscotch-citrus_green_tea_latte1

Monday Meet n’ Greet

Cafe Book Bean

Lets get to know each other:
Share about your love of books and/or coffee/tea!
cafe-interdit
Source: Cafe Meet n’ Greet:

Coffee Alternative
tumblr_nm27bktiG71saq5fro3_500

Heaven forbid
you should need
to stop drinking
coffee, or
find yourself
without it!smoked_butterscotch-citrus_green_tea_latte1


However, if you had to drink something else, or if you just like to mix it up, what would you choose?

View original post

Monday Meet n’ Greet

Lets get to know each other:
Share about your love of books and/or coffee/tea!
cafe-interdit
Source: Cafe Meet n’ Greet:

Coffee Alternative
tumblr_nm27bktiG71saq5fro3_500

 

Heaven forbid
you should need
to stop drinking
coffee, or
find yourself
without it!smoked_butterscotch-citrus_green_tea_latte1

 

 

 
However, if you had to drink something else, or if you just like to mix it up, what would you choose?

Coffee Alternatives

smoked_butterscotch-citrus_green_tea_latte1No there is nothing wrong with me, and yes I still love coffee above all other drinks. However, now and then it’s nice to have something a little different. Also, there are some people who cannot have coffee, or just don’t like it, and I wanted to share some of the solutions I came up with during a time when I could not have coffee.

So here are some great alternatives to coffee:

Tea
This might be and obvious choice, but you can use tea in more ways than just steeping it. I will take the tea leaves and compact them into an espresso machine and make a concentration like espresso. Then I will make tea lattes with steamed milk and honey or agave, they are amazing. Tea is also awesome because there are so many varieties just like coffee. There are options for caffeine seekers, as well as soothing non-caffeinated options.
2013-02-24-7-tasty-teas-to-boost-your-health-typesoregon-chai-dirty-chai-recipeChai TeaAlso awesome, it is a black tea with spices, very good plain or as a latte.
Matcha Tea
Good as well but most people either love it or hate it, it’s very earthy tasting. It is a green tea ground into a powder. matcha

Matcha makes a nice frothy drink, and is extremely good for you as well!

STEAMERS_GREEN_BOTTLESSteamers
Another great option. This is were you take steamed milk ( like what goes in a latte/cappuccino etc.) and you mix it with various flavoring.  Caramel, vanilla, honey, cinnamon, etc. you can experiment and make some pretty tasty drinks.

Another way to mix up the texture and flavors is to use milk alternatives like almond, cashew, and soy, they make for a nice variation.

Hot Cocoa
I 20120202-six-ways-to-spike-your-hot-cocoa-04-thumb-625xauto-217112know it seems like another obvious choice, but again play around with it. Make it from scratch with less sugar, so you can really taste the flavor of the cacao bean. Then add milk (steamed or cream, whatever your preference.) If you tone down the sweetness of your chocolate, you can add other flavors without making the sweetness over-powering. Try nutmeg, cinnamon, raspberry, caramel, etc. I enjoy mine with fresh mint!
61fcbb8640a40a6331fb2dbf1645a84668efa333Hot Apple Cider &/or Mulled Cider
I adore hot mulled cider (cider cooked and spiced with cinnamon sticks, allspice, cloves, orange slices.) Drink alone or for an unconventional twist add milk (almond milk is especially nice) and/or honey or agave (only if you like things super sweet, cider is naturally very sweet.)

 

178619111_XSCarob Powder
I don’t know much about this so I cannot vouch for it, but I’ve heard it come up a lot as a coffee and chocolate substitute (it is caffeine free.) It is said to be equally sweet and satisfying, and mix well with milk for a tasty drinkd401ff7c5b96a91e16ad8ac784c2fe2e. It is also supposed to be significantly healthier than cocoa powder (not to be confused with cacao.) Noted health benefits are: low in fat, high in fiber, and has calcium. I am listing it here based on what I have heard, but have never tried it myself. If it lives up to it’s claims than you could use it in the same ways I’ve mentioned for tea and hot cocoa.

If as a coffee alternative you are looking more for the energy booster, 
here are some great options: 

Wheatgrass juice
(raw/fresh)
wheat-grass-juice-with-lemon-on-tableThis “fresh” juice is one of the best sources of living chlorophyll available. It is also full of great nutrients; it contains all minerals known to man, vitamins A, B-complex, C, E, l and K. It is extremely rich in protein, and has 17 amino acids. Very healthy, energizing, and cleansing.
Pomegranate (fruit or juice.)
downloadThis fruit is also pact with vitamins and antioxidants! Increases blood flow, fights bacteria, anti-inflammatory, improves memory, and the list goes on. However, most importantly, it is rich in dietary nitrates (which helps with fatigue.) It is very energizing and invigorating.
Kombucha
kombucha1This is a fermented effervescent tea, that is made from black or green tea, and is slightly sweet. It can be very energizing and revitalizing, however the effects seem to vary, as some people feel a sedative effect.
Via Wikipedia: kombucha is produced by fermenting tea using a “symbiotic ‘colony’ of bacteria and yeast.”

Another great option is green smoothies and juices. Here are some great ingredients for an energy packed drink.

 

favorite-green-smoothie-4
Lemon: Has a lot of the same energizing components as orange but with a flavor that mixes very nicely with green smoothies.
Pomegranate
Spinach: Helps fight the blues, and is loaded with antioxidants and folic-acid. Unfortunately I don’t really like the flavor in my smoothies, so I go with Kale.
Chia Seeds: Energizing due to their awesome ratio of protein, fats and fiber.
Wheatgrass
Chard: This is said to have a positive effect on mood, so, why not!
I also like to add nuts to my smoothies, if you don’t mind the texture. They add lean protein which helps keep your energy up. Almonds (brain food!) are my favorite, but cashews lend a more smooth creamy texture and taste.
One other option is to add Greek yogurt to a smoothie for extra protein and energy. It is also a great digestive aid.
greensmoothie.jpgSimple Energizing Juice:
Granny Smith Apples
Lemon
Kale
Wheatgrass
It is very light, simple, and fresh, but packed with goodness!

Do you have any good energizing or relaxing alternatives to a cup of joe?