Mid-week Meet n’ Greet

Iced-Coffee-Hot-Coffee
Lets get to know each other:
Share about your love of books and/or
coffee/tea! Source: Cafe Meet n’ Greet

coffee-and-sugar-e459db0c5ee2c42a785abb2e14b822afblack-coffee-latte-comparison

Advertisements

Beat The Heat Book Beans Pt.2

Continuing from yesterday here is Part 2 of 2. More yummy chills and book thrills to beat the heat with!

Simmer down with these cool books and icy drinks:

“Love in The Time of Cholera”

Gabriel Garcia Marquez
is a wonderful author, and I really enjoyed this book. It had a warm ambiance laced in it’s pages and left me with a feeling of nostalgia when I finished it.

“Set in a country on the Caribbean coast of South America, this is a story about a woman and two men and their entwined lives. From the author of the legendary One Hundred Years of Solitude.”

Rated 3.9 on amazon.com

1669859.jpg

Book Bean: Raspberry Rose Ripple
Rose Tea Steeped rich and chilled. Add frozen raspberries to blender, add chilled rose tea, add a couple scoops of cool whip and blend. (you can also try this with ice-cream or fro-yo.)

Before The Fall

By Noah Hawley
On a foggy summer night, eleven people–ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter–depart Martha’s Vineyard on a private jet headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the plane plunges into the ocean. The only survivors are Scott Burroughs–the painter–and a four-year-old boy, who is now the last remaining member of an immensely wealthy and powerful media mogul’s family.

Rated 4.4 on amazon.com

GL0809_Papaya-Banana_Smoothie.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide.landscapeBook Bean: Frothy Tropical Frost
Prepare Hibiscus tea click for recipe, set aside 4 oz and chill. In a blender add a handful of frozen mango, a scoop of crushed pineapple, the 4oz of chilled hibiscus tea, half a banana, and a dollop of cream of coconut. Blend until smooth and frothy. Sip, read, chill, repeat.

“White Fang”

A great classic by Jack London. If you’d like to escape the heat and spend some time way up north in the wilderness of Canada, this is a book that makes a great escape.

“Half wolf, half dog, White Fang fully understands the cruelty of both nature and humans. After nearly starving to death during the frigid Arctic winter, he’s taken in first by a man who “trains” him through constant whippings, and then by another who forces him to participate in vicious dogfights.

Follow White Fang as he overcomes these obstacles and finally meets someone who offers him kindness and love.”

Rated 4.5 on amazon.com
maple_coffee_frappe.jpg

Book Bean: Maple Frozen Mocha
Brew espresso over 3 maple sugar cubes dissolve and chill. Add ice, drizzle ice with a little chocolate, add almond milk, and the espresso maple mix to blender. Blend  until smooth. You can double or triple this of course 😉

I’ll Give You The Sun

The New York Times Bestselling story by Jandy Nelson. A book about first love, family, loss, and betrayal. A great choice for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell

“At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them.”
Rated 4.7 on amazon.com

Citrus-Blend-Smoothie-003a.jpg

Book Bean: Teappaccino
Steep you favorite herbal or white tea blend and chill (citrusy and florally ones are especially nice). Add tea, scoop of vanilla fro-yo, and a squeeze of lemon to blender. Blend and enjoy 🙂

Well that is my beat the heat chill out list, I hope you find something that you’d like to try. Please share your experience if you do.

61320c2189a7c67808a67c621ee2520d
Check out my Saga Saturday List for even more great summer reads!

Mid-week Meet n’ Greet

C6rn0ofV0AAzlMZ
Today after endless rain, hail out-of-nowhere, over-the-top wind, and other various different backdrops for our not so lovely 40 degree weather, Portland Oregon skyrocketed to a luscious 80 degrees and sunny… Needless to say, summer fever is in the air!

 

So here is a little Meet n’ Greet in the warm spirit of Sunshine:

FullSizeRender (20)


Lets get to know each other:
Share about your love of books
and/or coffee/tea!

Source: Cafe Meet n’ Greet

“Here comes the sun (doo doo doo doo)”

Vote and/or share about your favorite summer-time drinkscoffee1

“Let us dance in the sun, wearing wild flowers in our hair…”
~Susan Polis Schutz

Top 10 Most Expensive Coffees

download (3)These coffee’s are rare and unique and come from all over the world. There is an interesting variety of flavors to keep any coffee connoisseur interested. However not all of these are readily available, some are bought by auction, some are sold in small batches to select people, and some are only sold in far off places.

Starting with the least expensive here are
the top 10 most expensive coffees:

bottle-n-coke-photo1

Black Blood of the Earth $40/750ml
or $95 for Blue Mountain!
Philip Broughton, the man who invented this coffee, says most of the coffee beans come from the rift valleys of Ethiopia and Africa where the beans are loaded with oil.
Flavor Notes: The acid is lost during intense processing, so what you get in your cup is a strong flavored brew that is rich in caffeine, but lacks acid.
Fun Fact: Black Blood of Earth is prepared using cold vacuum extraction. During the processing stage, most of the bean oil is extracted, and this makes the coffee abundantly rich in caffeine. The caffeine content is about 20 to 40 times more than that of regular coffee.

Los-Planes-CoffeeLos Planes Coffee (Citala, El Salvador) $40/lb
Flavor Notes:
A delicate balance of sweet chocolate citrus and a fruity acidity, with a mild body and a clean and transparent cup
Fun Fact:
 This remarkable coffee, has helped catapult this “no name” region of El Salvador into a star in the coffee-growing world.

 

roasted2Hawaiian Kona Coffee  $45-$65/lb
Flavor Notes:
  Smooth, delicate, and full-bodied, and with a bright, clear flavor and rich aroma. It is also described as robust, and usually with medium acidity.
Fun Fact:
 The sunny mornings, cloud or rain in the afternoon, little wind, and mild nights combined with porous, mineral-rich volcanic soil create favorable coffee growing conditions.

Fazenda Santa Ines (Minas Gerais, Brazil) aprx. $50/lb5297-583x243Flavor Notes: Toasted hazelnuts, berry, and cocoa with low acidity and medium body
Fun Fact: This family operated business uses traditional methods in all stages of coffee production

tumblr_lqyk81lfmS1r2yvaro4_500Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee  $50/lb
Flavor Notes:
 The coffee has blue green color, good acidity, intense aroma, fairly good body, clean.
Fun Fact: A balance of floral aroma, acidity and full body.

 

Guatemala Finca El Injerto Pacamara (Huehuetenango) $60/lb
sobre-subasta1Flavor Notes: Tangerine, Cranberry & Dark Chocolate
Fun Fact: In an online auction held in 2012, Finca El Injerto coffee beans were sold for a record-breaking price of $500.50 per pound. Since then, the coffee has gained a celebrity status worldwide. It is one of the rarest coffees from Yemen.

download (2)St. Helena Island Coffee Company  $89/lb
Flavor Notes: 
Delicate Acidity, Great Balance, and Full Bodied.
Fun Fact: In 1815, the British government selected Saint Helena as the place of detention of Napoleon Bonaparte. He was taken to the island in October 1815. Napoleon stayed at the Briars pavilion on the grounds of the Balcombe family’s home until his permanent residence,Longwood House, was completed in December 1815. Napoleon died there on 5 May 1821.

c2


Hacienda la Esmeralda Coffee
aprx. $350/lb
Bought by auction only 2014 auction price was $350 a pound.
Flavor Notes:  Extremely complex aromatics and flavors, including jasmine and stone fruit . Brilliant and clear acidity. Bergamot notes in the cup. Try it for $35/ cup.
Fun Fact: Geisha Esmeralda is grown on the fertile farmlands of Hacienda Esmeralda, which is nestled on Mount Baru in the Jamarillo region in western Panama.

Kopi Luwak Coffee (Indonesia) $100 to $600
Just saw on amazon for aprx. $374/lb
Trung Nguyen Legendee Gold Coffee Enxym simulated (no animals used) aprx. $50/lb
Kopi-Luwak-Coffee
Flavor Notes:
Diminished acidity and flavor and added smoothness to the body
Fun Fact: It is produced from the coffee cherries having been digested by a certain Indonesian cat-like animal called then palm civet or also civet cat. This is the reason kopi luwak is also called

 

 

civet coffee. The feces of the cat are collected, finished, and sold as kopi luwak. In the coffee industry, kopi luwak is widely regarded as a gimmick or novelty item.

the-black-ivory-coffee-L-DGIl_wBlack Ivory Coffee (Thailand)
$66 +shipping for 35 grams! Transfer that into a pound and it’s $855/lb
Flavor Notes:
 Dark chocolate, a hint of grass, spice (particularly tobacco, leather and cinnamon depending on the water you use) and it will be very soft, almost tea-like without the burnt or bitter taste of espresso.
Fun Facts:  Only 150 kg are produced a year. The limitations are due to the availability of high quality coffee cherries, the appetite of the elephants, the number of beans destroyed through chewing, and the ability of the mahouts and their wives to pick the beans by hand (8800 beans equal one kg of Black Ivory Coffee).

Have you tried any of these coffees? Which ones do you want to try?